JJC Hosts 32nd Annual Alumni Brunch June 2

Joliet Junior College invites all alumni, retirees, faculty, staff and friends to the 32nd annual Alumni Brunch Sunday, June 2 at 11 a.m. at the Dr. Gena Proulx Campus Center, located at 1215 Houbolt Road in Joliet. The cost is $30 per person.
In addition to celebrating the classes of 1943, 1953, 1963, 1973 and 1983, this year, for the first time ever, the brunch will include a road naming dedication ceremony, honoring four men responsible for JJC’s beginnings and continued success.
The road naming dedication ceremony has been in the works for a long time. According to Kristin Mulvey, executive director of resource development at JJC, the ceremony was scheduled during the brunch because many of the honorees’ families will be there. Each family will receive a complimentary street sign.
The four honored in this ceremony are deceased: Elmer W. Rowley, Edward Cwiklo, William Glasscock, and J. Stanley Brown.
Mulvey said the men were chosen because they made JJC a better place.
“Entrance Road,” on the Main Campus will be named for Rowley (Elmer W. Rowley Drive). Rowley was the first president of Joliet Junior College and also served as dean for many years.
“Exit Road,” on the Main Campus will be named for Cwiklo (Edward Cwiklo Lane). Cwiklo was a 1935 graduate who donated more than $2 million to the school upon his death in October 2004. Much of this money helps fund scholarships for students today.
“Outer Road,” on the Main Campus will be named for Glasscock (William Glasscock Drive). Glasscock was instrumental in bringing the alumni bell to the Main Campus in 1969.
“Inner Road,” on the Main Campus will be named for Brown (J. Stanley Brown Lane). Brown was one of the founders of the college and superintendent of schools in 1901.
In addition to the road naming dedication ceremony, three others will be honored with awards at the brunch.
Ronald M. Whitaker, ’69, of Ronald M. Whitaker and Company, will receive the Distinguished Alumni Achievement Award; Paul Lester, professor emeritus, social and behavioral sciences, will receive the Susan H. Wood Hall of Fame Award; and Kurt Nelson, ’07, assistant professor in the technical department, will receive the Faculty Prestige Award.
Those interested in attending the brunch must make a reservation by Thursday, May 23.
Reservations can be made by calling Sharon Medek at 815-280-2201, or by filling out a form online at www.jjc.edu/info/alumni-events.

About NewsRoom