10 Seek Spots on JJC Board of Trustees in Spring Election

In the April 4, 2017 consolidated election, the Joliet Junior College Board of Trustees will have four open seats—two seats for two-year terms and two seats for six-year terms.

A total of 10 individuals are on the ballot for the spring election:

Two-year term

  1. John (Jake) Mahalik, Joliet
  2. Margaret Hornung, Shorewood
  3. Susan Marie Klen, Joliet
  4. Mike “OC” O’Connell, Shorewood

Six-year term

  1. George Gaspar, Joliet
  2. Bob Bodach, Shorewood
  3. Alicia Morales, Joliet
  4. Philip Juarez, New Lenox
  5. Patricia “Patty” Deiters, New Lenox
  6. Daniel O’Connell, Joliet

Typically, members are elected to the JJC Board of Trustees to fill six-year terms in the state’s spring election cycle. However, since the JJC board had three resignations in 2015, members appointed to fill those seats must run in the 2017 election to retain their seats and finish out those terms. During the filing period, those interested in running for a spot on the board could declare what term length they would run for.

Individuals who win the two-year seats will finish out the terms of former Trustees Tina Markley and Barbara Adams, who stepped down in August 2015. Individuals who win the six-year terms  (2017-2023) will fill trustee spots that expire in 2017: current Trustee Mike O’Connell’s seat and former Trustee Jeff May’s seat.

Other JJC Board of Trustees members include Chair Bob Wunderlich; Vice Chair Andy Mihelich; Secretary Maureen Flanagan Broderick; and Student Trustee Kathleen Duong.

Related stories:

September 2015 JJC Board of Trustees Appoints Dan O’Connell to Fill One Trustee Vacancy

October 2015 Deiters and Morales Seated on JJC Board

For more information about the JJC Board of Trustees including scheduled meeting dates, visit: www.jjc.edu/board-of-trustees/Pages/default.aspx .


About NewsRoom